End of an Era

Last tuesday I got my PhD. Unfortunately, that has some consequences for this blog. Since I’ll now be working at a real job, which I’m starting monday, I won’t be able to do any Programming Praxis exercises during working hours anymore like I have for the past couple years. I’ll try and do some in the evenings now and then, but since I have a lot of other stuff to do, the frequency will be significantly reduced.

I hope you guys have enjoyed this blog over the past few years and I hope I’ve gotten at least a few of you to try out Haskell. If you haven’t, what are you waiting for? Go download the Haskell Platform and get started! Looking for something to practise on? Go do some of the exercises from Programming Praxis. I’m looking forward to reading your solutions.

Regards,
Remco Niemeijer

Tags: , , , , , , ,

7 Responses to “End of an Era”

  1. programmingpraxis Says:

    Congratulations!

  2. Tom R Says:

    Indeed congratulations! I’ll miss reading you solutions.

  3. tiwari_mukesh Says:

    Congratulations and will miss your Haskell codes.

  4. Egil Ha Says:

    Congratulations, and thanks for your work. Hope you will still do some problems. 🙂

  5. Ian Knopke Says:

    Your blog is fantastic! Where will you be working? Is it a Haskell job?

    • Remco Niemeijer Says:

      Thanks. I’m working at a software company in the Netherlands called De Twee Snoeken. It’s not a Haskell job (unfortunately there aren’t too many of those), but it’s fun and of the dominant languages you can do worse than C#, which is what’s used there. And even in a non-Haskell job you can still use Haskell. As a matter of fact I came up with an algorithm for the problem I’m working on today and since Haskell is the language I think in, that’s what I wrote the first implementation in. It seemed to work pretty well, so now I’m porting it to C#.

  6. Octopusgrabbus Says:

    Congrats and good luck.

Leave a Reply

