Vacation announcement

Since I will be on vacation for the next 4 weeks with no internet access, I won’t be able to post anything in the meantime. I should be back for Programming Praxis puzzle number 59.

In the meantime, I leave you with the following two koans to ponder:

A student said to his master:
“Master, there is a bug in my code, but I cannot find it.”
The master took one look at the code and said:
“No wonder, your code is far too long.
As it is difficult to find a needle in a haystack,
so is it difficult to find bugs in lengthy code.”
The student spent the next year studying
abstractions, algorithms and refactoring.
After that year, he once again approached his master and said:
“Master, there is a bug in my code, but I cannot find it.”
The master took one look at the code and said:
“No wonder, your code, while short, is so abstract
that it is difficult to reason about what happens.”
The student was enlightened.

A student approached his master and said:
“Master, I have heard that a neighboring monastery
teaches a different philosophy from ours. I would
very much like to study there.”
The master nodded, and said “It is always a good idea
to learn of other philosophies. You have my permission.”
Two years later the student returned to the monastery.
“Master, in my time at the other monastery I have observed
a striking difference between the two philosophies:
whereas we teach a strict adherence to the rules at all times,
they are more interested with the result, and obey rules
only when convenient. What is your opinion on this?”
The master replied: “What do you use to eat meat?”
“Chopsticks”, replied the student.
“What do you use to eat soup?”
“A spoon”.
The student was enlightened.

Tags: ,

2 Responses to “Vacation announcement”

  1. brian Says:

    probably meant *eat* meat.

  2. Remco Niemeijer Says:

    Thanks, fixed.

Leave a Reply

